Doctor Who Discussion Forum for Who North America customers
 
HomeFAQSearchRegisterMemberlistUsergroupsLog inThe Who North America Online Store
Share | 
 

 3-D TARDIS Model Kit book review wanted

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
Guest
Guest



PostSubject: 3-D TARDIS Model Kit book review wanted   Tue Oct 09, 2007 9:38 pm

Is anyone going to be buying the 3-D TARDIS book? If you do I would like a review of it. $30.00 is a hefty chunk of change to spend on something like that.

Thanks!! :doc4:
Back to top Go down
Angie_kiwigal
RANK: UNIT Recruit


Number of posts: 4
Age: 34
Registration date: 2007-11-10

PostSubject: Re: 3-D TARDIS Model Kit book review wanted   Sat Nov 10, 2007 6:34 pm

Yes I picked up the kit from the UK along with my Season 3 boxed set.

It's a good little kit - very detailed and a lot larger than I first thought. Good compromise for me as I am in New Zealand so it's a little expensive to buy any of the large toys such as the tardis play set for example.

The kit is divided up into approx 4 parts - the main console, the decking, the roof and the furniture.

Made up the main console and very beginning of the floor decking. Took a good couple of hours for just that part and requires a steady hand and (shame on me) an occasional piece of sellotape just to hold it together.

Have uploaded a couple of pics of my progress so far plus the photo from the back of the book although this does make it look a lot smaller than it really is.

regards,

Ang Very Happy

http://www.servimg.com/image_preview.php?i=1&u=11699751
http://www.servimg.com/image_preview.php?i=2&u=11699751
http://www.servimg.com/image_preview.php?i=3&u=11699751
Back to top Go down
View user profile
CJSchmidt
RANK: White Guardian


Number of posts: 618
Age: 31
Registration date: 2007-02-01

PostSubject: Re: 3-D TARDIS Model Kit book review wanted   Sat Nov 10, 2007 8:52 pm

Wow. That actually looks really neat. Keep us up on your progress!
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Guest
Guest



PostSubject: Re: 3-D TARDIS Model Kit book review wanted   Sat Nov 10, 2007 11:25 pm

I did order one, but havent had any time to work on it. It does look excellent though. I just wish it had a set of walls to put up also.
Back to top Go down
Angie_kiwigal
RANK: UNIT Recruit


Number of posts: 4
Age: 34
Registration date: 2007-11-10

PostSubject: Re: 3-D TARDIS Model Kit book review wanted   Wed Nov 14, 2007 11:25 pm

Another pic of current progress . . . slowly getting there - just the roof supports and top of console to go. Smile Cool

http://www.servimg.com/image_preview.php?i=4&u=11699751
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Angie_kiwigal
RANK: UNIT Recruit


Number of posts: 4
Age: 34
Registration date: 2007-11-10

PostSubject: Re: 3-D TARDIS Model Kit book review wanted   Sat Dec 08, 2007 10:11 pm

And it's finally all complete - and not too bad if I do say so myself. It'll do me anyhow Smile

http://i24.servimg.com/u/f24/11/69/97/51/p1010410.jpg
http://i24.servimg.com/u/f24/11/69/97/51/p1010411.jpg
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Chriscarr49
RANK: UNIT Recruit


Number of posts: 3
Registration date: 2007-12-29

PostSubject: Re: 3-D TARDIS Model Kit book review wanted   Sat Dec 29, 2007 3:19 pm

Hi

Christopher from Newcastle, England. I have just posted my thoughts and photos of the compleated model on AMAZON .CO.UK the british version. Find `tardis model making kit` and see what I managed including downloading the walls from a british site.

It a cool model well woth the money and the sellotape (oh yes I needed it also)


Chris
Back to top Go down
View user profile
ClockworkRobot
RANK: UNIT Recruit


Number of posts: 1
Age: 43
Registration date: 2007-12-31

PostSubject: Re: 3-D TARDIS Model Kit book review wanted   Mon Dec 31, 2007 10:02 am

Hello. Newbie to this forum but not to 'Who'. I've just been googling around seeing who got the tardis kit for xmas and finding out what folk thought of the work. Glad you guys appear to be enjoying it. Those are really nice WIP pics Angie_kiwigal and cheers Chriscarr49 for uploading pics to amazon. Couldn't find your review or links to the walls you created. Maybe they don't like links and have purged it?
The proto of the model had walls and a door but it was decided it made it look to much like the playset so they were nixed. I was gutted. Want to share your link and maybe I'll hide it on my web page somewhere?
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://www.clockworkrobot.com
Lior_Knight
RANK: Brigadier


Number of posts: 364
Age: 31
Registration date: 2008-01-01

PostSubject: Re: 3-D TARDIS Model Kit book review wanted   Sat May 10, 2008 5:07 pm

Any idea if this is suitable for display with CO 5" figures?
Back to top Go down
View user profile Online
 

3-D TARDIS Model Kit book review wanted

View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Who North America Forum ::  :: -