Doctor Who Discussion Forum for Who North America customers

HomeFAQSearchRegisterMemberlistUsergroupsLog inThe Who North America Online Store
Share | 

New to Who--Suggestions?

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
Lois Lane

Number of posts : 18
Registration date : 2007-02-02

PostSubject: New to Who--Suggestions?   Fri Apr 20, 2007 2:13 pm

Like many folks, I'm new to the Who Universe with the new series. (My only prior experience was occassionally catching some of the Tom Baker episodes a local station ran sporadically as a kid.)

Very interested in watching some of the past Doctors, but not sure what would be a good place to start.

So... any suggestions? Would be particullarly interested in runs I could pick up on DVD.

Thanks!
Back to top Go down
View user profile
CJSchmidt

Number of posts : 618
Registration date : 2007-02-01

PostSubject: Re: New to Who--Suggestions?   Fri Apr 20, 2007 5:54 pm

Is there a particular part of the new series that you enjoy? I have found that the classic series is a little easier to get into (for new fans) if you can make a connection. "Genesis of the Daleks" is very popular and it explains where those little buggers came from. I like the "robots of death" and "the ark in space" was just mentioned on the board as being a favorite. I would avoid anything directly involving Gallifrey right away as it probably won't live up to mystique built by the current show.

I should warn you that I am BY NO MEANS an expert on the classic stuff and I'm sure someone else on here is better qualified to give you advice. :-D
Back to top Go down
View user profile

PostSubject: Re: New to Who--Suggestions?   Fri Apr 20, 2007 9:59 pm

I have been referred to as an expert on the classic who. Been watching since I was about 9. 37 now. I will pick a story per doctor that might give you a wide variety of shows to watch.