Doctor Who Discussion Forum for Who North America customers
 
HomeFAQSearchRegisterMemberlistUsergroupsLog inThe Who North America Online Store

Share | 
 

 Genesis Ark Review

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
Guest
Guest



PostSubject: Genesis Ark Review   Thu Feb 01, 2007 8:50 pm

.


Last edited by on Thu Mar 01, 2007 8:17 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top Go down
Tara
RANK: UNIT Recruit


Number of posts : 2
Registration date : 2007-02-01

PostSubject: Re: Genesis Ark Review   Thu Feb 01, 2007 9:32 pm

Sounds great! WhoNA, any idea when you might be getting the rest of your shipment of these? I missed them the first time around. Sad
Back to top Go down
View user profile
CJSchmidt
RANK: Prime Minister


Number of posts : 618
Age : 34
Registration date : 2007-02-01

PostSubject: Re: Genesis Ark Review   Thu Feb 01, 2007 9:46 pm

How does the paint job look? I saw them pop up on whona a week or so ago and couldn't talk myself into pulling the trigger (then they sold out). From the pictures I've seen, it looks like the single dalek figure was much more detailed than the ones that came in the genesis pack. I haven't seen any close ups of the genesis daleks, I'd love to hear how you think they compare.

Back to top Go down
View user profile
Who North America
RANK: White Guardian


Number of posts : 5642
Registration date : 2007-02-01

PostSubject: Re: Genesis Ark Review   Thu Feb 01, 2007 10:15 pm

Tara wrote:
Sounds great! WhoNA, any idea when you might be getting the rest of your shipment of these? I missed them the first time around. Sad

Not sure, but we keep following up on them...240 more still to arrive.
Back to top Go down
View user profile http://whona.realtvboard.com
jonwes
RANK: Time Lord, Gold Usher


Number of posts : 4623
Registration date : 2007-02-01

PostSubject: Re: Genesis Ark Review   Thu Feb 01, 2007 10:52 pm

cjschmidt,

I was one of the ones that snapped the Ark set when it came to WhoNa (after not being interested in it much previously) and it's a great set. I've never been a huge Dalek fan really, but it does look great to build an army.

As for the paint jobs, the only Dalek I have to compare them to is the gold RC Dalek that was packed as a single figure (not the battle pack).

BUT, the Ark set Daleks are actually MORE detailed in their paint jobs. The color of gold is slightly different, being slightly more bronze. The really nice detail though is that all the little rivets are painted silver, whereas they were left the same color as the surrounding peices on the RC Dalek (and no, I didn't notice this right off the bat - I only looked when you asked).

The Ark set Daleks do "feel" less substantial just because they are pretty much hollow, but they don't look cheap. And for my money, the Ark itself is amazing. The paint they used lookes great, and I love the clear plastic bits on it.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Rogue
RANK: Prime Minister


Number of posts : 898
Registration date : 2007-02-02

PostSubject: Re: Genesis Ark Review   Fri Feb 02, 2007 1:35 am

Oh, I can't wait to get that set! I don't have any Daleks except the 12" RC Dalek Sec. I need to get some of the mini RC ones too...
Back to top Go down
View user profile
CJSchmidt
RANK: Prime Minister


Number of posts : 618
Age : 34
Registration date : 2007-02-01

PostSubject: Re: Genesis Ark Review   Fri Feb 02, 2007 2:21 am

I won't let the next shipment get by me next time, thanks!
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Guest
Guest



PostSubject: Re: Genesis Ark Review   Fri Feb 02, 2007 2:24 am

.


Last edited by on Thu Mar 01, 2007 8:17 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top Go down
tbowden
RANK: UNIT Trooper


Number of posts : 44
Age : 37
Registration date : 2007-02-02

PostSubject: Re: Genesis Ark Review   Fri Feb 02, 2007 7:05 pm

Definitely looking forward to this set of figs coming back in stock... can't wait to have a lil mini war/smack talk session with my cybermen and these dalek figs.

I'm such a dork. lol!
Back to top Go down
View user profile
NewtonDKC
RANK: Time Lord Commoner


Number of posts : 1376
Age : 47
Registration date : 2007-02-01

PostSubject: Re: Genesis Ark Review   Fri Feb 02, 2007 7:36 pm

DOn't feel bad tbowden - when it comes to WHo toys we've all got a little "dork" in us. Witness my smack down as the Cybermen and Daleks battle in the Hyperion Hotel from Angel! :-)

Back to top Go down
View user profile
tbowden
RANK: UNIT Trooper


Number of posts : 44
Age : 37
Registration date : 2007-02-02

PostSubject: Re: Genesis Ark Review   Sat Feb 03, 2007 1:42 pm

That's great! Did you make that set of the Hyperion yourself? Awesome work if you did!

We should start an Action Figure Theater type thread where we show off our figs battling it out or something... lol ...oh the possibilities! Smile
Back to top Go down
View user profile
FUNCHOMCLALA
RANK: Time Lord Commoner


Number of posts : 1351
Registration date : 2007-02-06

PostSubject: Re: Genesis Ark Review   Wed Feb 07, 2007 5:34 pm

The new sculpt of these Daleks is better than the RC sculpt. And the heads finally turn! The arms also have a larger radius of movement and are poseable.

Also, if you like the old RC eye better, as I do, you can switch eyes easily!


The Ark itself is very simple but elegantly painted and looks great.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Saveloy
RANK: UNIT Recruit


Number of posts : 2
Registration date : 2007-02-21

PostSubject: Re: Genesis Ark Review   Wed Feb 21, 2007 8:01 am

Does it require much force to pop out the plunger and gun arm?

My son bought this yesterday with his birthday money and we gave up trying to remove them for fear of breaking them. The eye stalks don't seem to be a problem but the other two just didn't want to budge.
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Guest
Guest



PostSubject: Re: Genesis Ark Review   Wed Feb 21, 2007 12:19 pm

.


Last edited by on Thu Mar 01, 2007 8:18 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top Go down
Saveloy
RANK: UNIT Recruit


Number of posts : 2
Registration date : 2007-02-21

PostSubject: Re: Genesis Ark Review   Wed Feb 21, 2007 12:28 pm

Heh, thanks, I'll give it a try tonight.

[edit:] Yep, works a treat! Thanks!
Back to top Go down
View user profile
Sponsored content




PostSubject: Re: Genesis Ark Review   Today at 10:18 pm

Back to top Go down
 
Genesis Ark Review
View previous topic View next topic Back to top 
Page 1 of 1

Permissions in this forum:You cannot reply to topics in this forum
Who North America Forum :: Product Discussion :: Product Reviews & Photos-
Jump to: